Republican Traitors Face Immediate Backlash

( – On Saturday, February 13, the US Senate wrapped up the impeachment trial of former President Donald Trump. The upper chamber voted 57 to 43 on the motion, resulting in Trump’s acquittal. Seven Republicans voted to impeach him, along with a unanimous Democratic Party. It was short of the 67 votes needed to convict the former president. For 16 hours, House Democratic managers argued that Trump incited a riot at Capitol Hill on January 6.

The seven Republicans who voted ‘guilty” were:

  1. Bill Cassidy (R-LA)
  2. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)
  3. Susan Collins (R-ME)
  4. Richard Burr (R-NC)
  5. Ben Sasse (R-NE)
  6. Pat Toomey (R-PA)
  7. Mitt Romney (R-UT)

Some of the Senators are already facing heat at home. The Louisiana Republican Party immediately censured Cassidy. He wasn’t alone. Three Nebraska GOP counties censured Sasse, with more expected soon. Pennsylvania GOP Chairman Lawrence Tabas blasted Toomey and said his vote was the wrong decision. North Carolina GOP Chairman Michael Whatley said Burr’s vote was “shocking and disappointing.”

What does all this mean for the future of Senate Republicans hoping to take the majority back in 2022? It’s too early to tell. Toomey and Burr have already announced they plan to retire. Murkowski is up for re-election in 2022. That’s three seats of the seven. To date, there are no GOP candidate announcements for Toomey’s seat. North Carolina is generally safe territory for GOP candidates. If Murkowski runs for re-election, expect a serious primary fight in heavily conservative Alaska.

CopyRight 2021,